+975 77602078 | +975 02 350724

Bhutan is very proud of its artistic heritage and produces works of excellent great artistic and quality value.

Its happens only in Bhutan that, the thirteen traditional crafts were practiced from the beginning, it is mostly agreed that only in the late seventeenth century were they formally categorized, named and segregate during the reign of the fourth Druk Desi Gyalse Tenzin Rabgye (1680-1694). The thirteen crafts are:

The arts and crafts are grouped in one list under the name “Thirteen Arts”, the Zorig Chusum:Zo means “to make””, rig “science” and chusum “thirteen”.

They consist of

  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Carving
  • Calligraphy
  • Paper making
  • Casting
  • Embroidery
  • Weaving
  • Carpentry
  • Masonry
  • Bamboo & cane weaving
  • Gold / Silver Smithy
  • Blacksmith