+975 77602078 | +975 02 350724

The Kingdom of Bhutan located at the eastern extreme of the Himalayas mountain range. It is sandwiched between the two nations China on the north and northwest and India on the south, southwest and east. Bhutan’s total borders amount to 1075 kilometres (China 470 km and India 605 km). Bhutan is a very compact nation, but with just a small bit more length than width.

Bhutan, is characterized by a highly mountainous terrain, extensive forest, abundant rains and rivers. It is one of the Biodiversity hot spots of the world. Most of the Bhutan’s terrain is extremely rugged.

Bhutan does not have any Coastline. The nation’s territory totals an approximate 46,500 square kilometres. It is known as the “Switzerland of Asia” since its shape, area and mountainous location are comparable to that of Switzerland. Bhutan is divided into 20 Dzongkhag.

Continent: Asia

Geographic coordinates: 27°30′N 90°30′E

Land boundaries: 1,075 km

Terrain: mostly mountainous with some fertile valleys and savanna

Natural resources: timber, hydropower, gypsum, calcium carbonate

Forest area: 84.90%

Cultivated Area: 7.8%

Irrigated Land: 400 sq km

Altitude: 100 m. above sea level in the South to over 7,500 m. above sea level in the north

Terrain: Bhutan can be divided into three major geographic regions from North to South. The high Himalayas of the North, the hills and valleys of the Central and the foothills and plains of the South.

Highest point: Gangkhar Puensum, 7,570 m

Lowest point: Drangme Chhu, 97 m

Climate: Bhutan’s climate varies with these regions. Tropical in southern plains; cool winters and hot summers in central valley; severe winters and cool summers in Himalayas.